The Stevens Competition for Architectural Glass

The annual Stevens Architectural Glass Competition is open to students and glass artists who have completed their training within the last five years. Since 2009 it has been one of the national competitions in the portfolio of Worldskills UK, which is backed by Government, and which holds national competitions to encourage best practice in practical and vocational occupations.

The competition is named after Thomas Stevens, a former Master, who left £1,000 to the Company in 1971. The Stevens Competition was established the following year as a competition intended to embrace all forms of decorative glass.

Each year’s competition focuses on a real location such as a public building, church, school, hospital or university.

Every October the brief and terms of entry are published and entrants register online on the Worldskills website. There are usually about fifty entries, which are judged by five leading glass artists the following April. On Prize-Giving Day in May a Student Seminar is held at Glaziers Hall followed by the award ceremony at which the entries are on display. As well as the main prizes there are special awards for craftsmanship and presentation endowed by John Corkill and by George and Evelyn Gee.

The owners of the competition site may, if they wish, commission one of the prize winners to complete and install his or her design. Not all competitions result in a commission, and the commissioned artist is not always the First Prize winner. Funding for commissions has in the past come from a variety of sources, including British Midland plc, Marks and Spencer plc, Birmingham Assay Office, UCH NHS Trust, the Esmee Fairbairn Foundation, the Charity of the Worshipful Company of Skinners, and a number of private individuals.

2015 Stevens Competition

From the Chairman of the Crafts and Competitions Committee


Download the Brief for the Stevens Competition or Architectural Glass 2015


All entries to the 2015 Stevens Competition must be at Glaziers Hall by 5.00 p.m. on Thursday 9th April accompanied by a completed Entry Form, ready for the judging on Monday 13th April. 
Should you have any queries please contact Neil Maurer ( 
We look forward to receiving all your entries in due course.


The brief for the 2012 Competition is still available.

The brief for the 2009 Competition at Churchill College, Cambridge is available for reference.

For a list of commissions since 1993 click here

We acknowledge the generous financial support of

Contact us if your company or organisation would be interested in providing

  • FINANCIAL SUPPORT for a commission; or
  • SPONSORSHIP for the Competition.